Monday, 21 October 2019, 6:57 PM
Site: Online Training @ DET
Course: Online Training @ DET (Home)
Glossary: Frequently asked questions
H

How can I register and participate in a course?

  1. Click the 'Create new account' button in the 'Login' box and fill in the registration form. An email will be immediately sent to your email address.
  2. Click on the confirmation link in the email. Your account will be confirmed and you will be logged in.
  3. Select the course you wish to participate in.
  4. Enter your 'enrolment key', when prompted. If you do not have your enrolment key, speak to your school leader or the course administrator.
  5. Once you have entered your 'enrolment key', you will be enrolled in the course. You will not require your enrolment key the next time you log in.

How can I save a page in the LMS as a PDF?

For Internet Explorer:

1. Go to the Tools menu
2. Select Print, then Print again (or press Ctrl+P on your keyboard)
3. Under 'Select Printer', select CutePDF Writer as your printer (see below). If you do not have CutePDF Writer installed on your computer, you can download it for free here

 
CutePDF-select as printer

4. Click the Print button.
5. A 'Save As' window will appear. Select the folder where you want to save the PDF file and give your file a name (see below) 


Saving in CutePDF

6. Click the Save button. That's it, your're done!


 For Google Chrome:

1. Go to the Settings menu (three dots in the top-right corner) or press Ctrl+P on your keyboard

2. Next to 'Destination', click the 'Change' button.

3. Select 'Save as PDF' from the list of available printers (see below). 

Select save as PDF in Chrome


4. You will be taken back to the Print menu. Click the 'Save' button (see below). 

Save PDF in Chrome

5. Select the folder where you want to save the PDF file and give your file a name.

6. Click the Save button. 


How can I unlock the next module?

Once you have completed all activities within a module, a link will appear at the bottom of the screen that reads 'Click here to unlock the next module and continue the course'. Simply, click this link to and the content in the next module will be unlocked.

If you cannot see this 'Unlock' link, check that all activities on the course page are ticked. A tick means it has been completed. Revisit and complete any activities which do not have a completion tick next to them. The Unlock link will appear once all activities are ticked as complete.

How can I unsubscribe from email notifications?

If you find that you are receiving email notifications whenever someone from your group posts a message in the discussion forum, there are three different ways you can unsubscribe.

  1. Each email notification you receive will contain a link to unsubscribe from email notifications - either from one specific forum or all forums on the site. You will need to enter your login details after clicking the relevant link.
  2. You can login to this site at anytime, and click on the 'Edit profile' link in the 'Welcome' box on the right hand side of the screen. Go to the drop down menu called 'Forum auto-subscribe' and select 'No, don't automatically subscribe me to forums'. Then, scroll down and click the 'Update profile' button.
  3. If you do not wish to switch notifications off altogether, you can switch them off for particular forums only. Each time you post to a forum, you will see a drop down menu called 'Subscription'. Select the option 'I don't want copies of posts to this forum'.

How can I view survey responses?

Some surveys allow you to view a visual summary of the responses from others. However, if a survey is marked as anonymous, and only one response has been completed, it will not show the responses to anyone.

Some surveys only show the responses to users with elevated priveleges, such as users with the 'Mentor' role. When you click on the activity, you will see instructions which will explain whether or not you have permission to view the survey responses.

If you are a mentor and would like to access survey responses for your group, simply click on the activity link, then click the 'Analysis' tab which will appear. Refer to the screenshot attached.

If the survey is anonymous, mentors will still only see a summary of responses and will not see any names associated with the responses.

How can I view the progress of the participants in my group?

Only users who have been granted 'mentor' privileges will be able to view the progress of other users in their group. These privileges are usually granted to principals or coaches who are facilitating the group's professional learning.

If you have mentor privileges, you will see a 'Reports' menu on the left hand side of the screen, which looks like the image shown below.

Reports block

The 'Activity completion' link in the menu takes you to a report which shows an overview of the progress of the participants in your group.

The 'Activity views' link in the menu takes you to a report which shows the number of times particular activities has been viewed by members of your group.

As a 'mentor', you will also be able to track which participants have completed the course in its entirety. Once you reach the 'Certificate of completion' activity in the final module of the course, you will see a link in the top right corner of the report to 'View issued certificates'.

How do I participate in a forum activity?

When visiting a discussion activity, an activity may require you to add a new discussion thread of your own, or it may allow you to simply read and reply to your colleagues' discussion threads, in order to complete the activity. Read the activity instructions to find out the requirements for each activity.

To add your own discussion thread (or topic), click the 'Add a new discussion' button. Type your message and then press the 'Post to forum' button.

To reply to another person's message, simply click the 'Reply' link beneath their discussion post. Type your message and then press the 'Post to forum' button.

If your post has been saved successfully, you will see a confirmation message that reads: 'Your post was successfully added. This activity has been marked as complete. You have 30 mins to edit it if you want to make any changes.'